

University of Pretoria Yearbook 2025

Financial mathematics 211 (IAS 211)

Qualification	Undergraduate
Faculty	Faculty of Natural and Agricultural Sciences
Module credits	12.00
NQF Level	06
Programmes	BSc Actuarial and Financial Mathematics
	BSc Mathematical Statistics
Service modules	Faculty of Economic and Management Sciences
Prerequisites	IAS 111, IAS 121, WTW 114, WTW 123, WTW 124, WTW 152, WST 111, WST 121
Contact time	1 practical per week, 3 lectures per week
Language of tuition	Module is presented in English
Department	Actuarial Science
Period of presentation	Semester 1

Module content

Principles of actuarial modelling, cash-flow models, the time value of money, interest rates, discounting and accumulating, level annuities, deferred and increasing annuities, equations of value.

General Academic Regulations and Student Rules

The General Academic Regulations (G Regulations) and General Student Rules apply to all faculties and registered students of the University, as well as all prospective students who have accepted an offer of a place at the University of Pretoria. On registering for a programme, the student bears the responsibility of ensuring that they familiarise themselves with the General Academic Regulations applicable to their registration, as well as the relevant faculty-specific and programme-specific regulations and information as stipulated in the relevant yearbook. Ignorance concerning these regulations will not be accepted as an excuse for any transgression, or basis for an exception to any of the aforementioned regulations. The G Regulations are updated annually and may be amended after the publication of this information.

Regulations, degree requirements and information

The faculty regulations, information on and requirements for the degrees published here are subject to change and may be amended after the publication of this information.

University of Pretoria Programme Qualification Mix (PQM) verification project



The higher education sector has undergone an extensive alignment to the Higher Education Qualification Sub-Framework (HEQSF) across all institutions in South Africa. In order to comply with the HEQSF, all institutions are legally required to participate in a national initiative led by regulatory bodies such as the Department of Higher Education and Training (DHET), the Council on Higher Education (CHE), and the South African Qualifications Authority (SAQA). The University of Pretoria is presently engaged in an ongoing effort to align its qualifications and programmes with the HEQSF criteria. Current and prospective students should take note that changes to UP qualification and programme names, may occur as a result of the HEQSF initiative. Students are advised to contact their faculties if they have any questions.